Tales of an RMT Whore…. who was unwilling!

Plenty of people have posted their thoughts on RMT, but how many of them were inadvertantly pulled into it?

I have a friend of mine who’s serving overseas, who for a little while now has owed me some money-  no big deal, it’s not as if I *need* it to survive, and frankly I’ll always give a serviceman a break given what they lay on the line for us.  However, my friend has a bit of a ‘I need to always have all my bills paid’ complex.  So I got an email a couple of days ago from him saying:

“Look, I know you play WoW, and I know I owe you money.  I don’t have a Paypal account, so I went ahead and cleared my debt to you.  You have a “RMT credit” at (insert RMT site here).”

Having never used such a service before, I was a bit shocked.

“Uh, that’s kinda cool and all…” I replied, not really sure how to respond.

“But is there any way for me to return it and you can just pay me when you get back?  I’m not really a fan of the RMT in principle”

“Nope, it’s non-refundable.”

Great.  Now I had a dilemma;  either use the credit and taint my soul for eternity, or don’t use it and never get my money back.  Wonderful choices.  So I bit the bullet, went to the site and navigated it, and sure enough an hour later some random guy whose in-game name was a bunch of random consonants runs over and gives me more in-game gold than I’ve ever had in WoW before.  As I’m pondering what to do with it, an evil idea creeps into my mind;  chuckling softly to myself, I proceed to go to our traditional Monday night instance run.  I calmly explain that I have come across ill-gotten gains, and rather than keep it all to myself, I’m going to buy all of them their level 40 mount books, thereby tainting them as well.  Now there are quite a few in this group who are against RMT, if not in principal than at least in conscience.  Just goes to show that you can’t judge a book by it’s cover.  NOT ONE of them refused it!  They too were willing to be tainted!  I fear I may have dragged the morality of our group to a new collective low.  I’m running in shame now… to the Thunder Bluff AH to buy Daddy some shinies.  God help me.

~ by trollonfire on January 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
